How can I make the most of this renewed generativity?

In his theory of psychosocial development, Erik Erikson describes eight life stages and their associated conflicts. Erikson asserts that the conflict of adulthood is one of generativity vs. stagnation. This makes perfect sense when we experience adulthood as a time of responsibility, or steadiness, as we establish our own families and lives. Since I’ve had children, I’ve been so focused on survival and day to day living that my inner life, my creativity, has totally stagnated.

It would be easy to fall into the trap of feeling too tired to write. But just like with exercise, I realize that im too tired not to do it!

Over the past couple of weeks, since I’ve been attending to the discipline of writing every day, blogging 365 questions, I’ve had a renewal of energy and ideas…Of generativity. I’m enjoying my job, having a great time coming up with new and invigorating lesson ideas. I’m reimagining the rooms in our house, coming up with new ways to use old spaces. I’m full of ideas, and because of that I’m feeling fulfilled. I’ve even caught myself smiling for no reason a couple of times! No doubt this energy will ebb and flow, but in the meantime, I’m feeling affirmed about the benefits of pushing my thinking every day in modest ways–the benefits of questions.

Leave a Reply

